- What happens if you sink the black ball off the break?
- Do pool balls get old?
- Can you play up the table in pool after a foul?
- What happens if you knock the black ball off the table?
- Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the black?
- Do you lose if you foul on the black?
- What happens if you sink the cue ball?
- Is it a scratch if you don’t hit any balls?
- Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
- Is Table scratch a real rule?
- What are the odds of sinking the 8 ball on the break?
- Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
- Can you hit the black on a free table?
- Is scratching on break a loss?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
- Do you lose if you miss the 8 ball?
- What happens if the 8 ball goes off the table?
- Is hitting the cue ball off the table a scratch?
What happens if you sink the black ball off the break?
Be sure to set the break rules BEFORE the start of a game.
A couple other things.
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string.
Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win..
Do pool balls get old?
after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
Can you play up the table in pool after a foul?
If a player wishes to play from Baulk after a Foul Snooker , Foul Jaw Snooker or “Time Foul”:- The player must verbally advise the referee of this choice and the referee will then recover the Cue Ball and hand it to the player or place it on top of, and in the centre of, the cushion at the Baulk end of the table for …
What happens if you knock the black ball off the table?
If your cue ball goes off the table during game play, then it is a foul and your opponent gets to place the cue ball anywhere behind the Foot Spot. This is usually how it’s played for bar rules. … This means you can place the ball anywhere on the table.
Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
Do you lose if you foul on the black?
In 8-Ball Pool, when you are on the black ball, if you foul (eg. don’t hit the black ball), the other player doesn’t get 2 shots because they are on the black ball. What stops both the players from just tapping the ball every time? They are not at a loss if they do, because the other player only gets 1 shot.
What happens if you sink the cue ball?
Under standard 8-ball rules, if a player sinks the cue ball during her turn, play is passed over to her opponent, who is allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table for his next shot.
Is it a scratch if you don’t hit any balls?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket.
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).
Is Table scratch a real rule?
A table scratch happens when you hit the cue ball or object balls in a way that isn’t legal, but don’t actually pocket the cue ball. This is sometimes called a “foul”. These are the rules for a legal shot: The cue can strike the cue ball only once.
What are the odds of sinking the 8 ball on the break?
The data showed this happening 5.9% of the time (vs. 0.8% for a 1st-ball break). If you play under rules where making the 8 on the break is a win (e.g., in the APA league system), the 2nd-ball break might be a good option because of the huge potential payoff of winning on the break.
Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).
Can you hit the black on a free table?
Following a foul the table is declared ‘open’ and the oncoming player takes a ‘free’ shot. In doing so it is permissible to play onto any object ball. Any ball may be potted, including the black if it is ‘on’.
Is scratching on break a loss?
Scratch on break: It is a foul; incoming player has ball in hand behind the line. 8-ball on break: (House rule only) Player pocketing 8-ball on break, wins. If player pockets 8-ball and scratches, player does not lose, but the 8-ball is spotted and incoming player has ball behind the line.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
Do you lose if you miss the 8 ball?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.
What happens if the 8 ball goes off the table?
When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … If any object ball is jumped off the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which is a loss of game.
Is hitting the cue ball off the table a scratch?
It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed. If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul. Touching any object ball with the cue ball while it is in hand is a foul.