- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
- Can you hit an opponent’s ball in pool?
- What happens if you don’t hit a ball in snooker?
- Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
- Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
- Where does the cue ball go when you scratch?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Do pool balls get old?
- Can you snooker behind a free ball?
- What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
- Can you hit back in snooker?
- Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
- Can you jump a ball in 8 ball?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
Cue Ball Scratch: If you pocket the cue ball on break, it is considered as scratch.
Then the playing turn goes to the opponent.
Scratch can also occur when you directly hit the opponent’s object ball with the cue ball.
Your opponent can place the cue ball on the table at any position of his choice..
Can you hit an opponent’s ball in pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
What happens if you don’t hit a ball in snooker?
A foul and a miss will be called if a player does not hit the ball “on” first (a foul) and is deemed by the referee to have not made the best possible attempt (a miss).
Is it a scratch if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket. The cue ball must hit at least one object ball and the object ball must hit a cushion or a pocket.
Do you have to call the pocket in 8 ball?
Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. That means you have to choose the pocket where you’re shooting before taking your shot. If a ball goes into a pocket, but it isn’t the called pocket, that would be the definition of slop. The way you choose your ball group is fairly simple.
Where does the cue ball go when you scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
Imagine my black over hole being covered with opponent’s ball and I have ball in hand. I must call opponent’s ball to pot black for win as unable to hit black directly with white. 8-ball made on an illegal shot: As player 1 has called 8-ball and the pocket, he cannot make contact with any other ball first.
Do pool balls get old?
after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
Can you snooker behind a free ball?
Re: Free Ball you can not roll behind a free ball for a snooker because as soon as that colour ball becomes a free ball it becomes the object ball ie red yellow etc etc so you cant snooker on a red behind a effective red the free ball.
What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
Can you hit back in snooker?
If you play you can’t hit backwards you may not even be advantaged by the other players foul if the balls you have left are all behind the D. Also playing from the D may put you in a snookered position where you are hamstrung by other balls and hence not really giving you an advantage even if you have 2 shots.
Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
Even if you successfully pocket an object ball, you scratch if the cue ball drops into any pocket and you lose your turn. The rules also note that if a pocket is full of balls and the cue ball touches one of the pocketed balls, it is a scratch.
Can you jump a ball in 8 ball?
If any object ball is jumped off the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which is a loss of game. Any jumped object balls are spotted in numerical order according to General Rules for spotting balls. 19. … Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
3.40 CUE BALL IN HAND FOUL During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball. When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot.